About Us


The museum will offer an experience that draws personal and emotional connections to Medal of Honor recipients and their stories, while shedding light on the wars in which they fought and the ideals that the Medal of Honor represents. Visitors will come to understand the meaning and price of freedom—and appreciate the virtue of putting service above self.

The National Medal of Honor Museum will also include an education center aimed at character development in our nation’s youth. A critical part of our mission will be to use the stories of our Medal of Honor recipients to inspire young people, and motivate them to be their best selves.

In concert with the Medal of Honor Society, the National Medal of Honor Museum—at the museum itself and virtually—will include a robust educational component aimed at youth character development. Designed by teachers, the Character Development Program will provide students with opportunities to explore the concepts of courage, patriotism, sacrifice, integrity and humility, and how these values can be exemplified in daily life.


The National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation is a 501(c)(3) educational institution organized to design, fund, build and maintain the National Medal of Honor Museum and Education Center, which will be funded principally through donations from the private sector.

The National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation Board is comprised of individuals dedicated to making this institution a reality. All of our living former Commanders-in-Chief – Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton and Jimmy Carter – have signed on as “Honorary Directors” of the National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation, reflecting the importance of our mission.

Your support will make this museum and education center a reality. It will ensure that these stories of selflessness, service and sacrifice remain a source of inspiration for generations to come. And as a donor, you will receive recognition on our website and in the new museum and education center.

Honorable Directors
  • The Honorable Barack Obama
  • The Honorable Bill Clinton
  • The Honorable George W. Bush
  • The Honorable Jimmy Carter
Board of Directors
  • Major General Patrick Brady, USA (ret.)
    Medal of Honor Recipient
  • Colonel Jack Jacobs, USA (ret.)
    Medal of Honor Recipient
  • SOCM (SEAL), Britt Slabinski, USN (ret.)
    Medal of Honor Recipient
  • Lieutenant Colonel William Swenson, USA
    Medal of Honor Recipient
  • Peter Stent, Chairman
  • Debra Burlingame
    9/11 Community Leader
  • Francisco D’Souza
    CEO and Vice Chair of The Board of Directors, Cognizant Technologies
  • Mike Hayes
    Senior VP and Head of Strategic Operations, Cognizant Technologies
  • Charlotte Jones
    Executive Vice President and Chief Brand Officer, Dallas Cowboys
  • Neil Leibman
    CEO, Gexa Corp; Co-Owner and Chief Operating Officer, Texas Rangers
  • Joel Marcus
    Executive Chairman and Founder, Alexandria Real Estate Equities
  • Brad Meltzer
    Author and Television Host

  • Alan Schwartz
    Executive Chairman Guggenheim Partners, L.L.C.
  • Ambassador Craig Stapleton
    Senior Advisor, Stone Point Capital; Co-Owner, St Louis Cardinals
  • Jared Weinstein
    Partner, Thrive Capital
  • Matthew Zames
    President and Senior Managing Director, Cerberus Capital Management


It is known as the Pyramid of Honor: the hierarchy of military awards for gallantry, valor and heroism. The Purple Heart forms the base but at the very top is the Medal of Honor, the nation’s highest medal for valor in combat. It is unique in every way; the only military medal that is worn around the neck. Its recipients are the only individuals whom the President and military of all ranks salute as a matter of custom.

The Medal of Honor is awarded by the President, in the name of Congress, to a member of the armed forces who is prominently distinguished by gallantry and intrepidity, risking loss of life above and beyond the call of duty