National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation Welcomes Two Members to Board of Directors

Appointment of Ryan McCarthy and Fawn Weaver will strengthen leadership and impact 

Arlington, TX – The National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation (NMOHMF) proudly announced today the addition of two members to its Board of Directors: former Secretary of the United States Army Ryan McCarthy and entrepreneurial ace Fawn Weaver. Photos of the pair can be found here and attached.

“Secretary McCarthy and Ms. Weaver each bring to this role substantial experience, a distinctive vision, and a commitment to excellence,” said Chris Cassidy, NMOHMF President and CEO. “Their dedication to making a positive impact in their communities and for the country will undoubtedly enhance the impact of the National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation and our commitment to inspiring America with the history and legacies of the Medal of Honor and those who received it. We look forward to their valuable contributions as we continue to support our nation’s heroes and honor their service and sacrifice.”

McCarthy, a former U.S. Army Ranger, has extensive experience in both the public and private sectors. In September 2019, he was confirmed by unanimous consent of the U.S. Senate and sworn in as the 24th Secretary of the Army and served in the role until January 20th, 2021. He previously served as the Undersecretary of the Army and was a special assistant to the 22nd Secretary of Defense Robert M. Gates, under Presidents George W. Bush and Barack H. Obama. In between stints at the Pentagon, he held sequential vice president roles at Lockheed Martin Corporation, where he was responsible for the sustainment, customer solutions, and program integration of the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program. He was inducted into the U.S. Army Ranger Hall of Fame in 2019.

Weaver is the CEO and Founder of Grant Sidney, Inc., a private investment company. She is a New York Times bestselling author and the founder of Uncle Nearest, Inc. Under her leadership, she turned Uncle Nearest Premium Whiskey into the fastest-growing American whiskey in U.S. history and the most-awarded Bourbon or American Whiskey for the years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023. That success made her a highly sought-after guest on prominent global shows – including FOX Business, CNBC, Good Morning America, and CBS This Morning. Her over 25 years of experience extends beyond the business world to include the Nearest Green Foundation, a nonprofit she established focused on African American heritage and community upliftment. In a historic feat, Weaver is the first non-celebrity Black American woman to found and lead a billion-dollar enterprise.

McCarthy and Weaver join a board of 29 distinguished individuals chaired by Charlotte Jones, Executive Vice President and Chief Brand Officer for the Dallas Cowboys, and including leaders of military, statecraft, business and philanthropy such as Thasunda Brown Duckett, Chief Executive Officer of TIAA, Doug Parker, Chairman and former CEO of American Airlines, and Rex Tillerson, the 69th U.S. Secretary of State. Former U.S. Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and Jimmy Carter serve as Honorary Directors of the NMOHMF. Their collective expertise propels the NMOHMF’s efforts to preserve the history and legacy of our nation’s highest award for valor in combat while using these stories to educate and inspire future generations. 

Other News