National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation Announces Mission Inspire Award and Inaugural Honorees

Arlington, TX –(March 10, 2022) The National Medal of Honor Museum Foundation (NMOHMF) announced that it presented its new “Mission Inspire Award” to the four members of Congress who co-introduced the National Medal of Honor Monument Act, Senators John Cornyn (R-TX) and Tim Kaine (D-VA) and Representatives Marc Veasey (D-TX) and Blake Moore (R-UT). The act – signed into law by President Joe Biden in December 2021 – authorizes the creation of a monument in Washington, D.C., in recognition of the Medal of Honor, our nation’s highest military award for valor in combat.

The Mission Inspire Award recognizes the extraordinary efforts made by communities, organizations, and individuals across the country to raise awareness for the Medal of Honor and honor the courageous individuals who have received the Medal, as well as all veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces. The four inaugural Mission Inspire Award honorees spearheaded the unanimous passage of this historic piece of legislation in both chambers of the U.S. Congress.

The NMOHMF released the following statement from President & CEO Chris Cassidy:

“I am thrilled to present the first-ever Mission Inspire Award to Sens. Cornyn and Kaine and Reps. Veasey and Moore. The stories of our nation’s Medal of Honor recipients serve as powerful reminders of what it means to put country above self. Thanks to these dedicated individuals, we can ensure that all their stories and the values they represent will be forever honored with a Monument in Washington, D.C, as well as a Museum in Arlington, Texas.”

The announcement of the first Mission Inspire Award honorees comes just two weeks ahead of the Museum’s groundbreaking ceremony in Arlington, Texas on March 25th, National Medal of Honor Day.

Other News